Stephanie Linus is named as the new head of Nigeria’s Oscars Committee

Stephanie Linus is named as the new head of Nigeria's Oscars Committee

Nigerian Official Selection Committee (NOSC) for the Best International Feature Film (IFF) Oscar category has a new chairperson in Stephanie Linus.

She was appointed after the committee’s chairman, Chineze Anyaene-Abonyi, recently resigned. With the NOSC being reapproved and a new chairwoman in however place, there is new hope that Nigeria won’t be absent from the 2022 Oscars further as a result of the prior committee members’ no-submission vote.

According to Punch, the new leadership has newly elected members. They include the seasoned performer furthermore Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde, Chidia Maduekwe, managing director of the Nigerian Film Corporation, Victor Okhai, president of the Directors Guild of Nigeria, Andy Amenechi, theatre artist Yibo Kikoko, and director Izu Ojukwu.

As they join other team members like writer/director Jude Idada, director John Njamah, cinematographer Adetokunbo Odubawo, actress Meg Otanwa, director Dimeji Ajibola, actress Ngozi Okafor, and then director Dimeji Ajibola.

They are anticipated to gather, watch, and vote on the film submissions that will represent Nigeria in the IFF category. However at the upcoming Academy Awards. The IFF category, formerly known as the Best Foreign Language Award, is for feature-length further films made outside of. The United States that contain 50% or more non-English dialogue.

NOSC committee will be chosen using both an A-E selection process and their varied film industry skills. The steps in the A-E selecting process are:

Committee members will analyze and assess all Nigerian movies that are eligible for Oscar submission.

Movies chosen for the Academy Awards based on their artistic merit, cultural representation, and adherence to the rules.

Nigerian Academy of Film and Television Arts’ official proposal was decided upon through an open vote process.

Academy Awards entry guidelines and deadlines were followed by the committee.

Any choice made following the voting process is final and cannot be altered out of fear or favor.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *